A few bumps in the road just make life a little more interesting, don’t they?

Day 10

I felt pretty lucky that I woke up to another day of sun greeting me as I opened my eyes this morning. A day that is overcast is ok but there is nothing like waking up to the sun. I got up at my normal early hour I have adopted here and made some coffee. I checked my emails and responded to all those who emailed me. I felt like we had produced a sufficent amount of laundry, especially towels that I should at least make a dent while I was around the house.

I threw in the towels and other assorted white laundry and got the machine started. JD used the rice from the night before and whipped up some stupendous fried rice. Let’s here it for all the men out there who cook! I was done with the computer around the time that the machine had finished with the towels, so I gathered them and took them outside. Yesterday while we were out the maintenance guys had come and fixed the dryer, but when I informed JD of this fact he seemed a bit disappointed. The washer and dryer are stackable units and the dryer doesn’t have an outlet for the hot wet air that runs to the outside. It dumps it right where it stands (see photo) so he was not looking forward to the hotness that would ensue every time I did laundry. Besides we both liked the sun dried laundry so I decided to keep up the clothes line action.

I started to hang up my towels and just as I got to the last one the left side of the frame collapsed (see photo)! I looked at where it had come undone and didn’t see how to pop it back together, so I removed a few of the lowest hanging ones that were touching the ground and rehung them on the other one next to it. I was a little unnerved at the thought of having to tell the land lord of my apparent brute strength and inwardly cringed. I had visions of being accused of swinging on them and having to tell her that I am in fact no longer 5, but went on my way about my day any how.

I got ready for the day and we left the house. JD had decided to make breaded pork chops for dinner and armed with a recipe from www.allrecipes.com (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Baked-Pork-Chops-I/Detail.aspx) we visited our favorite shops. We also decided to go up to Good Guys again and look at Fry Daddies. JD’s mother makes the best fresh French Fries on the planet so it’s in his blood to fry something once in a while. I have been informed that I will have to learn as well, so let me put that on the list of things to accomplish. We picked one out along with a set of clippers as I have been also informed that I will learn to cut hair as well. I told him fine but I don’t want to hear any complaining afterwards. Zip.

Good Guys has an upstairs that we didn’t see before, called Spotlight, that reminds me of a cross between Walmart and Bed, Bath, and Beyond. We found two Beach Towels on super sale and left. On the way down from the store there was lady with a baby stroller that had gotten stuck on the escalator. Apparently it had picked that particular moment in time to break down and she was busy taking her bags out of the baby stroller to lighten it and get it the rest of the way down. We helped her out and there by continuing our Karma Insurance Quota. Gotta keep up the random acts of kindness and all that jazz.

When we got home and I was unpacking my bag I found where a fruit tart I had purchased had made its way out of the bottom of its bag (last time I trust a wax paper bag!) and the jelly and creme had gotten everywhere. This really rubbed me the wrong way for whatever reason so after I cleaned up the receipts and the bag I marched back to the bedroom for some quiet time. I read for a bit (Twilight is awesome!!!) and drifted off to sleep. I awoke about an hour later and my attitude was much better. Nothing like a nap to make everything ok. It’s like hitting a reset button.

By this time it’s almost 3pm so I cleaned a little more and then decide to make a little Vitamin D. As I have said before the sun is very powerful here so to keep from burning I am sticking to my 3pm rule for laying out. I haven’t had any pink yet and my tan is looking very healthy indeed (see photo). JD started cooking and before long the delicious smells were wafting out of the kitchen and out on to the lawn. Bless his heart, he even ran out and got me a new tart (see photo).

About 5 we ate and it was so good it would make your toes curl. Along with the breaded pork chops we had rice and asparagus. De-freakin-lish! JD wants to know what I did to deserve a man who could cook so good. I told him that I’m sure did something fabulous somewhere along the way so he better keep it up.

I finally got my courage up and telephoned the landlord to tell her of my destruction. She started laughing and said that she had been expecting it at some point, they had accidentally dropped a tree on it the year before. So I am glad to report that I am ok and wasn’t subjected to the old Australian law of those who damage clothes lines are caned. Another narrow escape.

Later in the evening we were talking about the blog and how fun it was for me to have a creative outlet. He offered up some constructive criticism and said although he really liked it he thought I should show the negative stuff too. I told him I felt like I had but I think he was saying I don’t put them in a negative light. Since life is a balance of Yin and Yang, Light and Dark, I have asked JD to start another blog, which will reveal his take on everything. I figure we can call it JD’s Piss and Moan Section and see what happens. To be continued…

Please let us know what you think.

Stay Classy America.

